Tickets Selling! -- Wine and Chocolate -- Beyond San Francisco -- Aspiring Writers

3 jaren geleden


Text only:

 


__ 


Tickets Selling! -- Wine and Chocolate -- Beyond San Francisco -- Aspiring Writers










September 29, 2015 | San Francisco's Literary Festival


 


Tickets Selling Quickly!


Litquake 2015 starts next week, and although tickets are selling quickly, some seats are still available for our larger events. If you've always wanted to meet Christopher Moore, New York Times bestselling author of 14 novels who invites comparisons to Kurt Vonnegut, snag a seat to Horror and Hilarity: A Conversation with Christopher Moore and S.G. Browne...Fans of The Wire, Boardwalk Empire, and the Oscar-winning film Mystic River should make it a point to catch From Hardback to Hollywood: The Expansive Career of Dennis Lehane as Lehane explores his films, books, and more with film noir expert Eddie Muller...This year, Litquake partners with the Native Arts and Cultures Foundation to present an evening with Kealoha, the first Poet Laureate of Hawai'i, who infuses science, storytelling, poetry, movement, and visual art into his multimedia production, The Story of Everything...Animal lovers and supporters, don't miss Do Unto Animals: A Conversation with Tracey Stewart on the Beauty and Wisdom of Critters and How We Can Make Their Lives Better (Starting with Not Eating Them) as Tracey Stewart describes her campaign for animal advocacy on both a local and global scale.


_______________




_______________


LQ


Wine, Gourmet Chocolates, Luncheons, and More


If wines, cured meats, and chocolates are landing on your radar, check out our list of events involving exactly those subjects...You can grab a literary lunch with novelist Paul Theroux at Land of Tobacco, Churches, Broken History, and Harper Lee: Paul Theroux's Deep South as he discusses his new book, Deep South: Four Seasons on Back Roads...If you're more into coffee and conversation, don't miss A Playboy No Longer: Brunching with (Former) Bad Boy, Neil Strauss, as Litquake hosts Neil Strauss (New York Times bestselling author of the controversial 2005 how-to book The Game: Penetrating the Secret Society of Pickup Artists) for midday nibbles, coffee, and conversation in our San Francisco office...Angling for something more substantial? Litquake's first-ever food festival, Eat, Drink, and Be Literary, features all-day tasting stations of gourmet cuisine, desserts, wine, beer, and more, as well as panels and talks by nationally acclaimed chefs and authors like Thomas McNaughton (flour + water) and Dominique Crenn (Atelier Crenn). Discounted early bird tickets are still available, but not for long...Enjoy an evening of simultaneous poetry and wine at our annual Flight of Poets, where a renowned sommelier pairs six exquisite wines with six talented poets, including Ellen Bass, Maisha Z. Johnson, and others.


_______________




_______________


LQ


Litquake Explodes Beyond City Limits


If you live outside of San Francisco, you can still enjoy this year's festival at various events throughout the Bay Area... We are excited to return to the downtown corridor of San Rafael for Litquake San Rafael, a day-long series of free readings and open-mic events on October 11...Interested in environmental issues? Head to the Lafayette Library and Learning Center on October 11 for Braving the Elements, a full afternoon program of panel discussions on truth, beauty, and books about the environment...Also on October 11, Oakland hosts the East Bay launch of Tangled Vines: Greed, Murder, Obsession, and an Arsonist in the Vineyards of California by Frances Dinkelspiel...On October 13, Lit by the Lake in the Library showcases six authors at a special after-hours event at Oakland's historic Main Library...If you love a good scare, check out Thrillers at the Octopus on October 14, as three Bay Area crime thriller authors convene in Oakland to discuss their recent releases...And finally, if you live in or near Mill Valley, don't miss the local library's true storytelling series, Naked Truth: real.stories.live on October 16.


_______________




_______________


LQ


Aspiring Writers: Take Note (or Notes)


If you're an aspiring writer, there's plenty of inspiration at this year's festival...The Art of Writing panel discussion series on October 17 features bestselling authors and poets on the writing craft and process. At 11 am, Sara Mumolo, Dean Rader, Brynn Saito, and more help discuss The Art of Poetry. Are you a fiction writer? Register for The Art of the Short Story at 1 pm, with Jodi Angel, Tom Barbash, Grant Faulkner, and others. At 3 pm, The Art of the Novel offers seasoned insights from authors such as Bruce Bauman and Cristina García...Looking for time to write? Get your writer's blood flowing at Writing Salon's Write-a-Thon on October 10 or October 11.


_______________


LQ


Litquake Loves International Authors


We love the Bay Area, but we also recognize the value of presenting amazing literary superstars from across the globe. On October 10, award-winning author Fiston Mwanza Mujila, from the Democratic Republic of Congo, will read and discuss his debut novel which caused a literary sensation upon its publication in France, at Geography of Hunger: Fiston Mwanza Mujila and the Modern African Gold Rush...Also on October 10, Writing Cultural Identity: Chinelo Okparanta and Vu Tran in Conversation presents two short story writers-turned-novelists dissecting the fiction of cultural identity, migration, and the craft...On October 11 Nigerian-born author Chris Abani discusses humanitarianism, trans-national identity, and more at Conjoined Twins and Reflections of Humanity: Chris Abani in Conversation with Sarah Ladipo Manyika... On October 12, award-winning Danish poet Naja Marie Aidt presents her long-awaited first novel, Rock, Paper, Scissors...And on October 16, learn about one of the most charged cities in the world at Wolfgang Büscher: A Spring in Jerusalem, as the German veteran journalist recounts his journey through a city reverberating with politics, religion, and prophecy.


_______________




_______________


LQ


U.S. Poet Laureate Juan Felipe Herrera


This coming Thursday, Litquake is proud to co-present the new U.S. Poet Laureate Juan Felipe Herrera at the Jewish Community Center of San Francisco. The first Mexican-American to be honored as such, Herrera addresses issues such as immigration, a subject which occurs in his books, Border-Crosser With a Lamborghini Dream and 187 Reasons Mexicanos Can't Cross the Border. Use the special promo code JFH40 for a special Litquake Friends 40% discount on tickets. Thursday, October 1, 7 pm, Jewish Community Center of San Francisco, 3200 California Street, $27-$37.


_______________



Litquake is made possible in part due to the support of the following sponsors: The Miner Anderson Family Foundation, Margaret & Will R. Hearst III Gift Fund, San Francisco Arts Commission, San Francisco Grants for the Arts, Bloomberg Philanthropies, National Endowment for the Arts, Zellerbach Family Foundation, craigconnects.org, Fleishhhacker Foundation, Bernard Osher Foundation, Panta Rhea Foundation, Native Arts and Cultures Foundation, California Institute of Integral Studies, Chronicle Books, HarperOne, Zoetic Press, SF Travel, U.C. Berkeley Extension, Yerba Buena Gardens Festival Media Sponsors & Partners: 7x7 magazine, Fora.TV, KQED, KALW 91.7, Johnny Funcheap, BARtab


About Litquake

Litquake, San Francisco's annual literary festival, was founded by Bay Area writers in order to put on a week-long literary spectacle for book lovers, complete with cutting-edge panels, unique cross-media events, and hundreds of readings. Since its founding in 1999, the festival has presented more than 6,300 author appearances for an audience of over 132,000 in its lively and inclusive celebration of San Francisco's thriving contemporary literary scene. Litquake seeks to foster interest in literature, perpetuate a sense of literary community, and provide a vibrant forum for Bay Area writing as a complement to the city's music, film, and cultural festivals. 2015 Dates: 10/9-17. www.litquake.org


Litquake uses Vendini for ticketing, marketing, and box office management.
Litquake - 57 Post St, Suite 604, San Francisco, CA, 94104, (415) 440-4177
Vendini, Inc. - 660 Market Street, San Francisco, CA, 94104, 1 (800) 901-7173
Unsubscribe
View as a web page.

Litquake.org

Categorieën: Events Stad | Plaats | Dorp Artiesten Boeken Taal Schrijvers Pop Festival
Leeftijd: 7 t/m 13 jaar 14 t/m 18 jaar 19 t/m 30 jaar 31 t/m 64 jaar 65 jaar en ouder

Deel deze nieuwsbrief op

© 2019